Beta factors module 2023

Determine beta factors professionally and efficiently for business
valuations, purchase price allocations and impairment tests

Calculating the beta factor for business valuation is just as important as it is complex. There are different options
to calculate it and numerous settings must be carried out correctly and documented comprehensibly.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren
Applications
Business valuations according to IDW Standard 1 and KFS/BW 1
Valuation report according to IDW Standard 13
Valuation report according to IDW Standard 5
Indicative value
Purchase Price Allocation (PPA)
Squeeze-out valuations
Impairment tests IFRS / Local-GAAP
Income approach
Discounted Cash Flow approach

Free trial of smartZebra database
gratuitous and non-binding for 5 days

The trial account will expire automatically and does not need to be cancelled.
Just fill out the form!

Test for free

Company database
to the peer group search

By default, a group of comparable companies is used to determine the beta factor. These companies should correspond to the valuation object as closely as possible on the basis of factors such as size, regional orientation and the activity of the company.

The SmartZebra company database comprises more than 27,000 companies from the most important capital markets worldwide. The smart search offers several tools for quickly identifying suitable comparable companies, for example two different sector divisions, a free text search, quick presentation of financial data and a country filter of search results.

Thanks to the comprehensive database and smart search functions, you can put together suitable peer groups even for difficult cases.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-UnternehmensDatenbank
smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-BranchenBetas

Sector betas

The SmartZebra database provides sector betas for 20 sectors and 129 sub-sectors, in each case for 9 different regions. To make the data as transparent as possible, you will receive an overview of the number of companies in the sub-sectors and which companies they are.

Setting options for
the beta factor

Feature 1

Cut-off date

You can select valuation dates from 2010 on a daily basis and, if required, we can also provide you with data on earlier reference dates.

Feature 2

Period and frequency of yield calculation

Choose the best option for your valuation from various combinations of 1, 2, 3 or 5 years with daily, weekly, fortnightly or monthly return calculation. In addition, you can select whether the total return or the exchange rate return should be used for the calculation.

Feature 3

Benchmark index

The benchmark index is an important part of calculating the beta factor. There are various approaches to selecting the benchmark index, which is why SmartZebra allows you to choose from six different indices, which can be selected according to regional size and number of stocks in the index.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-Referenz-Index

Feature 4

Raw Beta Adjustment and Total Beta

The “Adjustment” is a correction to the Raw Beta. This correction is intended to adjust historically measured beta factors so that these — starting from the reporting date — can be used as an expected value for future beta factors. Alternatively, the Total Beta can be used.

Feature 5

Gearing

The debt ratio describes the ratio between debt and equity and is used to calculate the unlevered beta. You can see the elements for calculating the debt ratio and make individual settings, for example to include the pension deficit or lease liabilities.

Feature 6

Tax Shield

The Tax Shield influences Unlevered Beta and describes the value contribution to the company's value that results from a tax advantage of the return flows from debt financing compared to equity financing. The Hamada formula is used for the secure Tax Shield, the Harris and Pringle formula for the unsafe Tax Shield.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-Taxshield

Feature 7

Debt Beta

Debt beta is the beta factor for debt, which is calculated separately due to the (partial) assumption of business risk. This is particularly interesting at higher gearing levels. In addition, you can see information on the rating score, the rating indication, the credit spread and the risk premium.

Feature 8

Overview and quality filters

Compare beta factors using various settings for the time period and frequency of yield determination and other factors. You can filter the displayed data based on various quality criteria, including bid-ask spread, free float, coefficient of determination, t-test, Durbin-Watson test.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-Zeitablauf

Feature 9

Timeline

An overview of the evolution of beta factors over different time periods. Plus the course of Raw Beta and Unlevered Beta of individual companies.

Feature 10

Statistical data

The quality of a beta factor can be assessed in various ways. From a statistical point of view, the regression data coefficient of determination, t-test and f-test are very interesting. In addition, data on the trading volume and liquidity of stocks, such as the percentage of free float, the bid-ask spread and the number of trading days.

Feature 11

Documentation, Excel, Collaboration and Project Management

Record your findings in a PDF or Excel file and invite additional collaborators to join your project.

Feature 12

Monitor sector

Look at the risk of the companies in your peer group compared to the companies in the peer group and the sector or sub-sector.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-RisikoMonitor
smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-Analyse

Feature 13

Analysis

Detailed analyses for individual companies and time series on various data: regression diagram with the option to eliminate data points, time stability of the beta factor, daily raw beta including statistical quality.

Book an online presentation

SmartZebra GmbH needs the contact information that you provide to us to contact you about our products and services. You can unsubscribe from these notifications at any time. For information on how to unsubscribe, as well as our privacy practices and commitment to protect your privacy, please see our privacy policy.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Book your individual online demo here:

Capital market data of the highest quality — up to date and in compliance with standards

Calculating beta factors for business valuation is particularly challenging, as the data must be accurate and comprehensible in order to avoid expensive mistakes. At SmartZebra, we understand the importance of accurate beta calculations, especially when it comes to future-oriented corporate values. That is why we offer a comprehensive database of over 27,000 companies from the world's major capital markets, including a search function that helps to identify suitable peer groups for difficult cases.

But what is the beta factor anyway and why is it so important? The beta factor of a stock describes the risk in relation to the risk of the entire stock market. The beta factor is determined by the regression of the return on stocks against the yield of a broad stock index. Companies with a beta factor of more than 1 have a higher risk than the market, while companies with a beta factor of less than 1 are considered to be more stable.

Our SmartZebra database offers a variety of industry betas for 20 sectors and 129 sub-sectors. We transparently display the number of companies in the sub-sectors and which companies they are. In combination with our company database and our intelligent search function, you can quickly find the right peer groups.

Whether you're an experienced business analyst or just need an overview, our database of high-quality capital market data will help you work more precisely and effectively. Try it out today!

Beta-Faktoren Modul 2023

Professionell und effizient Beta-Faktoren für Unternehmensbewertungen,
Kaufpreisallokationen und Impairmenttests ermitteln

Die Berechnung des Beta-Faktors zur Unternehmensbewertung ist genauso wichtig wie komplex. Es gibt unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten
ihn zu berechnen und zahlreiche Einstellungen müssen korrekt vorgenommen und nachvollziehbar dokumentiert werden.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren
Einsatzbereiche
Unternehmensbewertungen nach IDW S 1 und KFS / BW 1
Bewertungsgutachten nach IDW S 13
Bewertungsgutachten nach IDW S 5
Wert-Indikationen
Kaufpreisallokation (PPA)
Squeeze-Out Bewertungen
Impairment Tests HGB / IFRS
Ertragswertverfahren
Discounted Cashflow Verfahren

Testen Sie die smartZebra Datenbank
kostenlos und unverbindlich für 5 Tage

Der Testzugang läuft automatisch aus und muss nicht gekündigt werden.
Einfach das Formular ausfüllen!

Kostenlos testen

Unternehmens-Datenbank
zur Peergroup-Suche

Zur Ermittlung des Beta-Faktors wird standardmäßig eine Gruppe vergleichbarer Unternehmen herangezogen. Diese Unternehmen sollen dem Bewertungsobjekt möglichst genau entsprechen anhand von Faktoren wie Größe, regionaler Ausrichtung und der Tätigkeit des Unternehmens.

Die smartZebra Unternehmensdatenbank umfasst mehr als 27.000 Unternehmen aus den wichtigsten Kapitalmärkten weltweit. Die smarte Suche bietet mehrere Hilfen zur schnellen Identifikation passender Vergleichsunternehmen, zum Beispiel zwei unterschiedliche Sektor-Einteilungen, eine Freitext-Suche, schnelle Darstellung von Finanzdaten sowie ein Länder-Filter der Suchergebnisse.

Dank der umfassenden Datenbank und den smarten Suchfunktionen können Sie auch für schwierige Fälle passende Peergroups zusammenstellen.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-UnternehmensDatenbank
smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-BranchenBetas

Branchenbetas

Die smartZebra Datenbank bietet Branchenbetas für
20 Sektoren
und 129 Sub-Sektoren jeweils für 9 verschiedene Regionen. Um die Daten möglichst transparent zu machen, erhalten Sie einen Überblick über die Anzahl der Unternehmen in den Sub-Sektoren und um welche Unternehmen es sich handelt.

Einstellungsmöglichkeiten für
den Beta-Faktor

Feature 1

Stichtag

Sie können Bewertungsstichtage taggenau ab 2010 auswählen und bei Bedarf können wir auch Daten zu früheren Stichtagen für Sie bereitstellen.

Feature 2

Zeitraum und Frequenz der Renditeermittlung

Wählen Sie aus verschiedenen Kombinationen von 1, 2, 3 oder 5 Jahren mit täglicher, wöchentlicher, vierzehntägiger oder monatlicher Renditeermittlung die beste Variante für Ihre Bewertung aus. Zusätzlich können Sie auswählen, ob die Gesamtrendite oder die Kursrendite zur Berechnung verwendet werden soll.

Feature 3

Referenz-Index

Der Referenz-Index ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil zur Berechnung des Beta-Faktors. Es gibt verschiedene Ansätze zur Auswahl des Referenz-Index, die smartZebra erlaubt deshalb eine Auswahl aus sechs verschiedenen Indizes, die nach regionalem Umfang und Anzahl der Aktien im Index ausgewählt werden können.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-Referenz-Index

Feature 4

Raw Beta Adjustment und Total Beta

Das „Adjustment“ ist eine Korrektur des Raw Beta. Diese Korrektur dient dazu, historisch gemessene Beta-Faktoren so anzupassen, dass diese – ausgehenden vom Stichtag – als Erwartungswert für in der Zukunft liegende Beta-Faktoren herangezogen werden können. Alternativ kann das Total Beta verwendet werden.

Feature 5

Verschuldungsgrad

Der Verschuldungsgrad beschreibt das Verhältnis zwischen Fremdkapital und Eigenkapital und wird zur Berechnung des Unlevered Beta herangezogen. Sie sehen die Elemente zur Berechnung des Verschuldungsgrades und können individuelle Einstellungen vornehmen, beispielsweise zur Einbeziehung des Pensionsdefizits oder der Leasingverbindlichkeiten.

Feature 6

Tax-Shield

Das Tax-Shield beeinflusst das Unlevered Beta und beschreibt den Wertbeitrag zum Unternehmenswert, der durch eine steuerliche Bevorteilung der Rückflüsse einer Fremdkapitalfinanzierung im Vergleich zu einer Eigenkapitalfinanzierung entsteht. Für das sichere Tax-Shield wird die Formel von Hamada verwendet, für das unsichere Tax Shield die Formel von Harris und Pringle.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-Taxshield

Feature 7

Debt Beta

Das Debt Beta ist der Beta-Faktor für das Fremdkapital, der aufgrund der (teilweisen) Übernahme des operativen Geschäftsrisikos gesondert berechnet wird. Dies ist insbesondere bei höheren Verschuldungsgraden interessant. Zusätzlich erhalten Sie Informationen zum Rating Score, zur Rating Indikation, dem Kreditaufschlag und dem Risk Premium.

Feature 8

Übersicht und Qualitätsfilter

Vergleichen Sie Beta-Faktoren über verschiedene Einstellungen zum Zeitraum und Frequenz der Rendite-Ermittlung und weiteren Faktoren. Dabei haben Sie die Möglichkeit, die angezeigten Daten anhand verschiedener Qualitätskriterien filtern zu lassen: u.a. Bid-Ask Spread, Free-Float, Bestimmtheitsmaß, T-Test, Durbin-Watson-Test.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-Zeitablauf

Feature 9

Zeitablauf

Ein Überblick über die Entwicklung der Beta-Faktoren über verschiedene Zeiträume. Plus dem Verlauf von Raw Beta und Unlevered Beta einzelner Unternehmen.

Feature 10

Statistische Daten

Die Qualität eines Beta-Faktors lässt sich auf verschiedene Arten bewerten. Aus statistischer Sicht sind die Regressionsdaten Bestimmtheitsmaß, T-Test und F-Test sehr interessant. Außerdem Daten zum Handelsvolumen und Liquidität der Aktien wie dem Prozentsatz des Free Float, dem Bid-Ask Spread und der Zahl der Handelstage.

Feature 11

Dokumentation, Excel, Kollaboration und Projektverwaltung

Dokumentieren Sie Ihre Ergebnisse in einem PDF oder als Excel und laden Sie weitere Personen zur Kooperation in Ihre Projekte ein.

Feature 12

Sektor Monitor

Betrachten Sie das Risiko der Unternehmen Ihrer Peergroup im Vergleich zu den Unternehmen der Peergroup und dem Sektor bzw. Sub-Sektor.

smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-RisikoMonitor
smartZebra-Beta-Faktoren-Einstellungen-Analyse

Feature 13

Analyse

Detaillierte Analysen für einzelne Unternehmen und Zeitreihen zu verschiedenen Daten: Regressionsdiagramm mit Möglichkeit zur Eliminierung von Datenpunkten, Zeitstabilität des Beta-Faktors, tagesgenaues Raw Beta inklusive statistischer Qualität.

Online-Präsentation buchen

smartZebra GmbH benötigt die Kontaktinformationen, die Sie uns zur Verfügung stellen, um Sie bezüglich unserer Produkte und Dienstleistungen zu kontaktieren. Sie können sich jederzeit von diesen Benachrichtigungen abmelden. Informationen zum Abbestellen sowie unsere Datenschutzpraktiken und unsere Verpflichtung zum Schutz Ihrer Privatsphäre finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Buchen Sie hier Ihre individuelle Online-Demo:

Kapitalmarktdaten in höchster Qualität – aktuell und standardkonform

Das Berechnen von Beta-Faktoren für die Unternehmensbewertung ist besonders herausfordernd, denn die Daten müssen korrekt und nachvollziehbar sein, um teure Fehler zu vermeiden. Wir bei smartZebra verstehen, wie wichtig eine präzise Berechnung des Beta-Faktors ist, besonders wenn es um zukunftsorientierte Unternehmenswerte geht. Deshalb bieten wir eine umfassende Datenbank mit über 30.000 Unternehmen aus den wichtigsten Kapitalmärkten weltweit an, einschließlich einer Suchfunktion, die dazu beiträgt, passende Peergroups für schwierige Fälle zu identifizieren.

Aber was ist der Beta-Faktor überhaupt und warum ist er so wichtig? Der Beta-Faktor einer Aktie beschreibt das Risiko im Verhältnis zum Risiko des gesamten Aktienmarktes. Der Beta-Faktor wird durch die Regression der Aktienrendite gegen die Rendite eines breiten Aktienindizes ermittelt. Unternehmen mit einem Beta-Faktor von mehr als 1 weisen ein höheres Risiko als der Markt auf, während Unternehmen mit einem Beta-Faktor von weniger als 1 als stabiler gelten.

Unsere smartZebra Datenbank bietet eine Vielzahl an Branchenbetas für 20 Sektoren und 129 Sub-Sektoren. Wir stellen transparent die Anzahl der Unternehmen in den Sub-Sektoren dar und um welche Unternehmen es sich handelt. In Kombination mit unserer Unternehmensdatenbank und unserer intelligenten Suchfunktion können Sie schnell die passenden Peergroups finden.

Egal, ob Sie ein erfahrener Unternehmensanalyst sind, oder nur einen Überblick benötigen – unsere Datenbank mit qualitativ hochwertigen Kapitalmarktdaten wird Ihnen helfen, genauer und effektiver zu arbeiten. Probieren Sie es noch heute aus!